![]() |
BSc (HONS) US equivalence - Printable Version +- Accountancy Forum (https://www.accountancy.com.pk/forum) +-- Forum: The Profession (https://www.accountancy.com.pk/forum/forum-the-profession) +--- Forum: Students (https://www.accountancy.com.pk/forum/forum-students) +--- Thread: BSc (HONS) US equivalence (/thread-bsc-hons-us-equivalence) |
BSc (HONS) US equivalence - shtuamouth - 07-18-2010 hello. i need to know is BSc (HONS) Applied Accounting equivalent to 4 year US bachelors for admission in a masters program. anyone has info please let me know about 1= any universities having internal evaluators who recognize this degree equivalent to 4 year US bachelors. 2= or any external evaluators that accept it i.e. ECE, WES etc. - arsenal.gooner - 07-18-2010 if you have done a levels, then with the degree, you will have a total of 16 years education and therefore equivalent to US bachelors - shtuamouth - 07-20-2010 <blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, san" id="quote">quote<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by arsenal.gooner</i> <br />if you have done a levels, then with the degree, you will have a total of 16 years education and therefore equivalent to US bachelors <hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote"> hey thanks for the information. i have A'level in 2 subjects, maths and urdu. i also hold a foundation in modern electronics from university of westminster. its (as per the university) equivalent to A'level. they say its even better than A'level. anyways have you tried any evaluation. basically i just want to know how you know it. if you found it somewhere online kindly forward the link so i may have a look at it myself. pls is it for external evaluations like WES or also the same goes for internal university evaluations. - arsenal.gooner - 07-20-2010 okay the answer to your question is very simple. the bsc degree by obu is a recognized british degree. it is just like any other degree from a recognized British universities. many students having a british degree (british + others) do go for studying in US so equivalence should not be problem since you will not be the first one.. however, 0.1% chance that if they dont equate it to a US bachelors, you will have to take a foundation course. however i dont think this should be the case. the reason is that in the us, students study till high school (grade 12) before enrolling in a 4 university degree program. in the uk, students study till a'levels (grade 13) before enrolling in a 3 year degree program. both add up to 16 years of education. Hope this helps - shtuamouth - 07-21-2010 <blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, san" id="quote">quote<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by arsenal.gooner</i> <br />okay the answer to your question is very simple. the bsc degree by obu is a recognized british degree. it is just like any other degree from a recognized British universities. many students having a british degree (british + others) do go for studying in US so equivalence should not be problem since you will not be the first one.. however, 0.1% chance that if they dont equate it to a US bachelors, you will have to take a foundation course. however i dont think this should be the case. the reason is that in the us, students study till high school (grade 12) before enrolling in a 4 university degree program. in the uk, students study till a'levels (grade 13) before enrolling in a 3 year degree program. both add up to 16 years of education. Hope this helps <hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote"> thank you dear. - arsenal.gooner - 07-21-2010 np mate. anytime. - arsenal.gooner - 07-21-2010 hey just found out something on the wikipedia page of ACCA "As of 2006, Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants, World Education Services (WES) and the Odette School of Business at the University of Windsor indicated that the evaluation recognized ACCA as having the Canadian equivalence of a Bachelor's Degree (four years) in Accounting" ab khush hai bhai -) - shtuamouth - 07-22-2010 <blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, san" id="quote">quote<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by arsenal.gooner</i> <br />hey just found out something on the wikipedia page of ACCA "As of 2006, Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants, World Education Services (WES) and the Odette School of Business at the University of Windsor indicated that the evaluation recognized ACCA as having the Canadian equivalence of a Bachelor's Degree (four years) in Accounting" ab khush hai bhai -) <hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></font id="quote"></blockquote id="quote"> thank you bhai. i have seen that on WIKI but was confused whether by ACCA they mean whole of the ACCA or till the point you get BSc from OBU. anyways thanks once again. - arsenal.gooner - 07-22-2010 np. anytime |